After a two-hour meeting in Istana Negara, the Conference of Rulers comes to the conclusion.


The two-hour meeting in Istana Negara concludes the Conference of Rulers.

Malaysia’s eight state rulers met with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong for about two hours today at Istana Negara in Kuala Lumpur, while the rest of the country awaits a decision on who will be the country’s tenth prime minister.

This morning, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah convened a meeting of the Conference of Rulers to consult with his fellow Malay Rulers on a way out of the post-election stalemate.

Johor Ruler Sultan Ibrahim Iskandar arrived first at 9.40 a.m. and left first at 11.50 a.m. At 11.55 a.m., he was followed by Negri Sembilan Ruler Tuanku Muhriz Tuanku Munawir.

From 12.40pm onwards, the remaining rulers began leaving Istana Negara, beginning with the Sultan of Kedah, Al-Aminul Karim Sultan Sallehuddin Almarhum Sultan Badlishah, Selangor. Perak’s Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah Sultan Nazrin Shah, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin of Terengganu, Raja Muda of Perlis Tuanku Syed Faizuddin Putra ibni Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Putra Jamalullail, and finally Pahang Regent Tengku Hassanal Ibrahim Alam Shah, who left around 1.10pm.

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is on the verge of becoming Malaysia’s prime minister, while Umno’s Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan could be named deputy prime minister in a unity government, which has been discussed since yesterday.

You May Also Like…

%d bloggers like this: